IWA/ ISME Bio Cluster Award

Call for Nominations

To recognise and celebrate the importance and impact of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology and water/wastewater treatment the IWA/ISME BioCluster has created the IWA/ISME Bio Cluster Award.

The Call for Nominations for the IWA/ISME BioCluster Award 2020 is now open!

The deadline for submission of nominations is 1 May 2020.

The call for nominations is open for two Awards:

  • the Grand Prize, and
  • the Rising Star Prize, meaning that candidates can be senior leaders in the field or young rising stars.

Nomination procedure

All IWA and/or ISME members are entitled to nominate candidates. To nominate an individual please fill out the nomination form, attach an extended CV of the candidate together with a complete publication list and two supporting letters by scientists affiliated neither with nominator’s institution nor with the institution of the nominated candidate. Please be aware that self-nominations are not accepted. Nominees must be members of IWA and/or ISME.

The selection criteria are:

  • Promotion of interdisciplinary research
  • Breakthrough research
  • Application potential in the water sector

The review and evaluation committee of leading experts from IWA and ISME are: Glen Daigger, Kirsten Küsel, Colin Murrell, Per H. Nielsen, Barth Smets and Michael Wagner.

Award ceremony and presentations from the winners

The IWA/ISME BioCluster Award 2020 will honour the awardees in a special ceremony during two international events:

Winners of the ISME/IWA BioCluster award 2018

Grand Prize

Prof. dr. Wen-Tso Liu

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Grand Prize

Prof. dr. Katherine McMahon

University of Wisconsin – Madison, USA

Rising-Star Prize 

Dr. Ameet J. Pinto

Northeastern University, USA

Winners of the ISME/IWA BioCluster award 2016

Latest Updates

October 4, 2021
The call for nominations for the 2021 IWA Development Awards has been extended until 15 October 2021! The awards recognise excellence, leadership and innovation...
August 26, 2021
The call for nominations is now open for the 2021 IWA Development Awards! The awards recognise excellence, leadership and innovation in the water sector, and ai...
June 3, 2021
The winners of the IWA Membership Awards have been announced by IWA President Tom Mollenkopf, during a plenary session on Tuesday 1 June to mark the beginning o...
May 26, 2021
Inspirational academic Marcos von Sperling (top left in the picture) has won the acclaimed IWA Global Water Award, during a presentation at IWA’s Digital Worl...