August 18, 2022 IndustryMembership

Winners of ISME/IWA BioCluster Award 2022 announced

In order to recognise the importance and impact of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology, water & wastewater treatment and engineering sciences, the IWA/ISME BioCluster created the ISME/IWA BioCluster Award. The award is a collaboration between the International Society for Microbial Ecology (ISME) and the International Water Association (IWA). The prestigious prizes reward internationally-recognized research of unusual merit in this field. This award is presented every two years. There are two award categories:

  • the Grand Prize
  • the Rising Star Award

2022 Winners

The Grand Prize has been awarded to Prof Jizhong Zhou, a Chaired Professor & Director of the Institute for Environmental Genomics at the University of Oklahoma

The Rising Star Prize has been awarded to Dr Christopher E. Lawson, Assistant Professor in Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto

Jizhong (Joe) Zhou
Jizhong (Joe) Zhou
Research Professor, ISME-IWA 2022 Award Winner, IWA Fellow
Christopher Lawson
Christopher Lawson
Assistant Professor, University of Toronto. ISME-IWA 2022 Award Winner

Further information

The Awards will be presented at:

The review committee is composed of the following members: Barth Smets, Glen Daigger, Per H. Nielsen, Kelly Wrighton, Phil Hugenholtz, Michael Wagner.