IWA Professional Development Award

The Professional Development Award recognises water sector companies that are making a significant contribution to the professional development of their employees, and through that support the attraction, development and retention of the next generation of water leaders.

Past Award Winner


Malaysian sewerage company Indah Water Konsortium won the 2020 IWA Professional Development Award for their exceptional record of developing talent in the sector. Click here to watch the Professional Development Award announcement.

Press release


2018 Award Winner Back & Veatch implement in their professional programme for current and future employees. The  company has developed a robust career development program for professionals and projects in needs of specific expertise, and give special attention to the formation and matching career paths of and for project managers. Further to these strong pillars of in-house career building, the other remarkable career development components the company puts emphasis on, are mentoring, onboarding programs, Growth Accelerator and leadership development.

Press release

Latest Updates

July 20, 2023
IWA is pleased to announce that registration for its much-awaited Water and Development Congress & Exhibition (WDCE) 2023 is now open! Reaching its seventh ...
June 8, 2023
Pictured above: Award winners at the Opening Ceremony of the IWA 2022 World Water Congress & Exhibition, including the Water and Development Awards for Rese...
June 7, 2023
11 – 15 August 2024 | Toronto, Canada The International Water Association is pleased to announce that the call for content for the 2024 IWA World Water Co...
May 16, 2023
Call for nominations extended to 22 May! The IWA Specialist Group on Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering (MEWE) is calling for nominations for the Ardern-Lo...