IWA Publishing Award

The IWA Publishing Award recognises significant contributions to IWA Publishing activities. These contributions should go beyond publishing with IWA Publishing as an author, and should include leadership and service in advancing the IWA Publishing book and journals program. The award is granted every two years, with the award presented at the World Water Congress & Exhibition. The award is not restricted to members of IWA.

Evaluation of the nominations is carried out by the Publications Committee. The Chair of the Publications Committee will invite the Editor-in-Chief of each IWA Publishing to solicit nominations from within their Editorial Board. Each editorial board can nominate one person. The nomination should include (1) name of the nominee, (2) brief explanation describing why the person is being nominated and why she/he best fulfils the criteria for the award, (3) name of person nominating, and (4) journal/book programme that is supporting this nomination.


Damir Brdjanovic

Professor Damir Brdjanovic is awarded with the 2018 IWA Publishing Award. Being acting Professor for Sanitary Engineering at the IHE Delft Institute for Water Education, he has been main initiator for several books published by the Association, with all these books beingn best-sellers. They demonstrate a clear level of innovation in publishing and are heavily focused on knowledge transfer and education. With the publication “Biological Wastewater Treatment” (2008). This publication is used widely outside this online course and is IWA Publishing’s best-selling book ever.

Press release


Previous Winners

2018 Damir Brdanovic: Leadership in publishing five very successful books that are also published various languages
2016 Mogens Henze: Leadership in transforming and advancing the Journal of Water Research
2014 Dragan Savic:  Leadership as Editor in Chief of Journal of Hydroinformatics
2012 Per Nielsen: Leadership in the IWAP book programme
2010 Gustaf Olsson: Leadership in further developing Water Science & Technology as a stand-alone journal
2008 David Dixon: Excellent editor for Water Research
2004 Peter Wilderer: Leadership in advancing quality in Water Science & Technology
2002 Piet Lens: Leadership for the book series on Integrated Environmental Technology