October 5, 2016

Water Sector leaders recognised by IWA Awards

Today The International Water Association (IWA) announced the recipients of their Recognition & Awards Programme 2016, which recognises and acknowledges the achievements of IWA’s members who make significant contributions both to both the The IWA and to water management worldwide.


IWA’s Recognition & Awards Programme recipients are:


IWA Outstanding Service Award

Gérard Payen
For his consistent and outstanding service to the association and his contribution to influencing the global policy dialogue

IWA Award for Outstanding Contribution to Water Management & Science

Helena Alegre
For her outstanding and innovatory contribution of international impact

IWA Publishing Award

Professor emeritus Mogens Henze
For his significant contributions to IWA Publishing activities.

IWA Honorary Membership

Professor emeritus Hallvard Ødegaard
For his outstanding contribution to the Association and to the water sector.

IWA Honorary Membership & Presidential Roll of Honour

Professor Helmut Kroiss
For his outstanding contribution to the Association and to the water sector, and for his service as IWA President.


“In an era when the water sector is facing unprecedented challenges, and the need for innovative action has never been more urgent, recognising those water leaders who are making a difference is critical. The IWA Recognition & Awards Programme 2016 highlights the individual excellence and positive impact that IWA’s members have brought to addressing the challenges of water management worldwide,” said Ger Bergkamp, Executive Director, the International Water Association.

The IWA Recognition & Awards Programme is a means of recognising and acknowledging the work and long-term impact of IWA’s members on water management. Those receiving awards have contributed through their experience and expertise to finding innovative solutions, and delivering pioneering science, policy and practice to enhance water management around the world.

The IWA Recognition Awards Programme awards will be presented at the World Water Congress & Exhibition in Brisbane, Australia (09-14 October 2016).