February 5, 2024 IndustryMembership

Nominations open for ISME/IWA BioCluster Award 2024

In order to recognise the importance and impact of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology, water & wastewater treatment and engineering sciences, the IWA/ISME BioCluster created the ISME/IWA BioCluster Award. The award is a collaboration between the International Society for Microbial Ecology (ISME) and the International Water Association (IWA). The prestigious prizes reward internationally-recognised research of unusual merit in this field. This award is presented every two years. Nominations are now open for 2024.


How to Nominate

Please be aware that self-nominations are not accepted. Submission deadline: 31 March 2024

All IWA and/or ISME members are entitled to nominate candidates. Candidates can be senior leaders in the field, but can also be young rising stars. Nominated candidates must be members of either IWA or ISME (or both). The call for nominations is open for two Awards:

  • the Grand Prize
  • the Rising Star Prize



Further information

The Awards will be presented at:

The review committee is composed of the following members: Glen Daigger, Per H. Nielsen, Cindy Smith, Kelly Wrighton, Phil Hugenholtz, Michael Wagner.

2022 Winners

The Grand Prize has been awarded to Prof Jizhong Zhou, a Chaired Professor & Director of the Institute for Environmental Genomics at the University of Oklahoma

The Rising Star Prize has been awarded to Dr Christopher E. Lawson, Assistant Professor in Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto

Jizhong (Joe) Zhou
Jizhong (Joe) Zhou
Research Professor, ISME-IWA 2022 Award Winner, IWA Fellow
Christopher Lawson
Christopher Lawson
Assistant Professor, University of Toronto. ISME-IWA 2022 Award Winner
Find out more about previous winners here