June 8, 2022 IndustryMembership

Nominations deadline approaching for ISME/IWA BioCluster Award 2022

In order to recognize the importance and impact of interdisciplinary research at the interface of microbial ecology, water & wastewater treatment and engineering sciences, the IWA/ISME BioCluster created the ISME/IWA BioCluster Award. The award is a collaboration between the International Society for Microbial Ecology (ISME) and the International Water Association (IWA). The prestigious prizes reward internationally-recognized research of unusual merit in this field. This award is presented every two years. Nominations are closing soon on 17 June 2022!


How to Nominate

Please be aware that self-nominations are not accepted. Submission Form 

All IWA and/or ISME members are entitled to nominate candidates. Candidates can be senior leaders in the field, but can also be young rising stars. Nominated candidates must be members of either IWA or ISME (or both). The call for nominations is open for two Awards:

  • the Grand Prize
  • the Rising Star Prize



Further information

The Awards will be presented at:

The review committee is composed of the following members: Barth Smets, Glen Daigger, Per H. Nielsen, Kelly Wrighton, Phil Hugenholtz, Michael Wagner.

Find out more about the 2020 winners.