XIV Latin American Workshop and Symposium on Anaerobic Digestion

Local Organizer: Instituto de Ingeniería, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Community Organizer: , support by the Young Water Professionals-Mexico

On behalf of the Organizing Committee and the Scientific Committee, we warmly welcome you to the XIV Latin American Workshop and Symposium on Anaerobic Digestion (DAAL XIV), which will take place in the city of Querétaro, Mexico, from October 23 to 27, 2023. After the pandemic period caused by SARS-CoV-2, we will celebrate this great event that has historically been the main platform to present scientific and technological advances related to anaerobic digestion, and that has the support of the International Water Association (IWA) and its group of specialists in anaerobic digestion. This event is organized by the Engineering Institute of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).

DAAL XIV will be a space to discuss the new scientific and technological advances and challenges of processes related to the anaerobic treatment of wastewater, revalue of solid waste, recovery of nutrients and other precious products, emphasizing their contribution to the circular economy.


  • Microbial ecology in anaerobic digestion
  • Modeling and control
  • Industrial wastewater
  • Municipal wastewater
  • Sludge digestion
  • Nutrient recovery
  • Removal of emerging contaminants
  • Recovery of value-added chemical products
  • Circular economy and life cycle analysis
  • Post-treatment and conditioning of anaerobic effluent
  • biogas and digestate
  • Full scale experiences

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Germán Buitrón
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Carlos A Chernicharo
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Sergio Francisco Aquino
Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto Brazil
Lourdinha Florencio
Universidade Federal de Pernambuco Brazil
André Bezerra dos Santos
Universidade Federal do Ceará Brazil
Marcelo Zaiat
Universidade de Sao Paulo Brazil
Gustavo Ribeiro
Universidad Estatal de Sao Paulo Brazil
Alexandra Cerón Vivas
Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana Colombia
Juan S Arcila Henao
Universidad de Manizales Colombia
Rolando Chamy
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso Chile
David Jeison
Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso Chile
Gladys Vidal
Universidad de Concepción Chile
Lorna Guerreo
Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María Chile
Jorge Rodríguez
Khalifa University of Science and Technology United Arab Emirates
José Luis Sanz
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid Spain
Juan Lema
Universidad de Santiago de Compostela Spain
Sara Pérez Elvira
Universidad de Valladolid Spain
Jim Field
Arizona University United States Of America
Lutgarde Raskin
University of Michigan United States Of America
Jorge Arreola Vargas
Texas A&M University United States Of America
Jean Philippe Steyer
INRAe - Laboratoire de Biotechnologie de l’Environnement France
Thierry Ribeiro
Institut Polytechnique LaSalle Beauvais France
Hervé Macarie
Institut de Recherche pour le Développemen France
Jules van Lier
Delft University of Technology Netherlands
Fons Stams
Wageningen University Netherlands
Adalberto Noyola
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Francisco Cervantes
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Iván Moreno-Andrade
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Oscar Monroy
Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana Mexico
Hugo Méndez
Universidad de Guadalajara Mexico
Elías Razo
Instituto Potosino de Investigación Científica Mexico
Rosa Elena Yaya
Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería Peru
Rosemary Vela
Universidad Nacional Agraria La Molina Peru
Claudia Etchebehere
Instituto de Investigaciones Biológicas Clemente Estable Uruguay
Liliana Borzaconi
Universidad de la República Uruguay
Ángela Cabezas
Universidad Tecnológica Uruguay