Postponed: XIV Latin American Workshop and Symposium of Anaerobic Digestion

Local Organizer: Instituto de Ingeniería, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Community Organizer:

The XIV edition of the Latin American Workshop and Symposium on Anaerobic Digestion (DAAL) will be held in Mexico in 2020 (11 – 13 November) at the Mexican Caribbean coast, in the island of Cozumel. The country already hosted two previous events in the series: the first in November 1990 (Mexico City) and the seventh in October 2002 (Merida). The other venues have been Cuba, Uruguay, Colombia, Chile, and Brazil (all twice) and Peru. Moreover, 30 years of DAAL series will be celebrated in Cozumel. IWA (starting as IAWQ) has supported this technical meeting since 1998. DAAL brings together researchers, postgraduate students, consultants, engineering firms, and providers of equipment and technology related to anaerobic processes. All attendants share a common interest on the sustainable management of organic waste in Latin America, applying anaerobic processes to reduce environmental impacts and recover resources (such as biogas and nutrients). Around 350 attendants are expected, attracted by the high scientific and technical level of the DAAL symposia and the natural and cultural attractions that Cozumel, the Mayan region, and Mexico offer to the visitor. Submission deadline for poster presentation extended - 12 June 2020


  • Microbial ecology and molecular biology in anaerobic processes
  • Anaerobic treatment of industrial and municipal wastewater
  • Post-treatment of anaerobic effluents
  • Anaerobic digestion of solid waste
  • Anaerobic biodegradation of emerging contaminants
  • Modeling and control of anaerobic processes
  • Anaerobic digestion and circular economy: resource recovery
  • Full-scale experiences

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Germán Buitrón (Chair)
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Carlos A Chernicharo
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Sergio Francisco Aquino
Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto Brazil
Lourdinha Florencio
Universidade Federal de Pernambuco Brazil
André Bezerra dos Santos
Universidade Federal do Ceará Brazil
Marcelo Zaiat
Universidade de Sao Paulo Brazil
Gustavo Possetti
Diana Catalina Rodriguez
Universidad de Antioquia Colombia
Patricia Torres Lozada
Universidad de Antioquia Colombia
Janet Jiménez
Universidad de Sancti Spíritus José Martí Pérez Cuba
Andrés Donoso
Centro Tecnológico del Agua CETAQUA Chile
César Huilinir
Universidad de Santiago de Chile Chile
Fernando Fdz Polanco
Universidad de Valladolid Spain
Oscar Monroy
Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana Mexico
Francisco Cervantes
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Iván Moreno
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Hugo Méndez
Universidad de Guadalajara Mexico
Elías Razo
Instituto Potosino de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica Mexico
Claudia Etchebehere
Instituto de Investigaciones Biológicas Clemente Estable Uruguay
Others to be invited