IWA Conference Water in Industry 2020

Community Organizer:

Water of different qualities is used in a wide range of industrial processes. After usage, various substances will enter the water streams, generating the industrial wastewater whose characteristics may include recalcitrant organics, high salinity, heavy metals, extreme pH, high turbidity, etc. Nowadays, water in industry tends to form a recycling loop, as boosted by the regional water scarcity, strict policies on emission control, and arising public concerns as well. The tendency would increase the challenge of technical solutions and management tools. Hence, the IWA conference “Water in Industry 2020” is initiated to provide a knowledge sharing platform on new advances related to the water cycle in industry. The conference will take place in Nanjing, a vivid historical heritage of China, from 30 March to 2 April 2020.


  • Pretreatment and post-treatment
  • Zero liquid discharge
  • Resource recovery
  • Removal of recalcitrants and heavy metals
  • Pre-membrane treatment
  • Cooling water
  • Smart management
  • Water policies
  • Water energy nexus
  • Best practice examples

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Yanhua Xu
Nanjing Tech University China
Jun Ma
Harbin Institute of Technology China
Xiaohong Guan
Tongji University China
Xia Huang
Tsinghua University China
Jiangyong Hu
National University of Singapore Singapore
Pen-Chi Chiang
Taiwan University Taiwan, China
Hyunook Kim
University of Seoul South Korea
Bingcai Pan
Nanjing University China
Darren D Sun
Nanyang Technological University Singapore
Giorgio Bertanza
Universita degli Studi di Brescia Italy
Weixing Li
Nanjing Tech University China
Kai Yan
Sun Yat-Sen University China
Santino Di Berardino
LNEG Portugal
Bing Xue
Chinese Avademy of Sciences China
Qilin Wang
University of Technology Sydney Australia
Tjandra Setiadi
Institute Teknologi Bandung India
Bui Xuan Thanh
Ho Chi Minh City University of Technology Vietnam
Qiang Li
SinoChem Environment Holdings Ltd China
Xiaohong Guan
Tongji University China
Henri Spanjers
TU Delft Netherlands
Philiswa Nomngongo
University of Johannesburg South Africa