5th International Conference on Ecotechnologies for Wastewater Treatment (ecoSTP2020) “Impacting the environment with innovation in wastewater treatment”

Community Organizer: , EcoSTP group

Following four successful IWA Specialized International Conferences on ‘Ecotechnologies for Wastewater Treatment (ecoSTP)’ in Spain (2012), Italy (2014), the United Kingdom (2016), and London, Ontario, Canada (2018), we are pleased to announce the 5th ecoSTP conference (IWA ecoSTP2020) to be held in Milan (Italy). High anthropic pressure is impairing water, impacting the environment and limiting its potential uses, so innovation is the key for a new paradigm in wastewater treatment and management, as for: a) energy and resource recovery, favoring a new water economy. b) potential for multiple-use and reuse of the water resource, such as improvement of recreational surface water uses, promotion of indirect potable reuse, requalification of agricultural reserves, revitalization of waterways reconnecting people. The conference will feature plenary and parallel sessions, as well as workshops and short courses for students, postdocs and interested researchers. The conference is organized by the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering of Politecnico di Milano and will be supported by Water Utilities, Companies in the Water Sector, Local Authorities and other stakeholders.


  • Innovative technologies, approaches and STP layouts for sustainable wastewater treatment, resource recovery and wastewater reuse
  • Strategies for energy consumption and carbon footprint minimization in wastewater treatment
  • Occurrence, fate and removal of contaminants of emerging concern, including micro- and nano-plastics and antibiotic resistance, in wastewater and sludge
  • Natural-based solutions for resilient and smart wastewater treatment and management
  • Monitoring, modelling and control for effective process management, optimization and scale-up, also based on advanced data analytics and artificial intelligence
  • Digitalization and emerging ICT technologies for a new deal in water cycle
  • The wastewater biorefinery from lab to full scale: technical, economic and regulatory issues
  • Preservation of ecosystem quality and human health through risk-based approaches
  • Economics of wastewater treatment and management
  • Integrated assessment for wastewater treatment and management under Life Cycle Thinking

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Manuela Antonelli
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Arianna Azzellino
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Roberto Canziani
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Elena Ficara
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Francesca Malpei
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Andrea Turolla
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Juan Lema
Universidade de Santiago de Compostela Spain
Francesco Fatone
Università Politecnica delle Marche Italy
Ana Soares
Cranfield University United Kingdom
Ted Mao
Trojan Technologies Canada