7th International Water Regulators Forum

  • Regulators
  • Governance
  • SDGs
  • International Water Regulators Forum
  • Sanitation
  • Water policy & regulation


The International Water Regulators Forum (IWRF) is the international meeting of the global network of regulators of IWA. It gathers high level representatives of regulatory authorities and officials of agencies with regulatory and supervisory functions over the provision of water, sanitation, and wastewater treatment services. The Forum is an regulators-only event, except for its closing plenary.

During the Forum, discussions are structured around highly interactive sessions that combine short inspirational presentations and roundtable discussions led by the speakers. The roundtable discussions provide an opportunity for participants and speakers to analyse and discuss in detail each topic, share comparative experiences, address proposed questions, and suggest one or more recommendations for consideration of the plenary.

The Forum consists of four sessions during the IWA World Water Congress & Exhibition 2022 where a highly prioritised agenda addressing current regulatory challenges and topics of interest to regulators will be delivered. The forum concludes with a closing plenary where discussions will be summarised and recommendations presented, providing an opportunity to engage with other relevant stakeholders and explore the interlinkages between regulation, science, policy and practice.

The Forum is being shaped and steered by a diverse and motivated Programme Committee, a committed group of professionals consisting of high profile members of the IWA Regulators Community.

For more information about the Forum and its technical content, please contact Carlos Diaz, Strategic Programmes and Engagement Manager responsible for IWA’s Water Policy and Regulation agenda.

To request an invitation to the Forum, please contact William Cappuyns (Membership Engagement Officer, Regulation & Utilities).

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Ms. Tone Madsen, Chairperson
Head of the Water Regulatory Authority, Danish Competition and Consumer Authority (DCCA - KFST) Denmark
Mr. Oscar Hugo Pintos
President of the Association of Drinking Water & Sanitation Regulators of the Americas (ADERASA) Argentina
Mr. Seamus Parker
Executive Director of the Queensland Treasury Corporation Australia
Mr. Dan Palombi
Senior Advisor of Resource Geoscience at the Alberta Energy Regulator - Alberta Geological Survey (AER-AGS) Canada
Dr. Mari Asami
Chief Senior Researcher at the National Institute of Public Health (NIPH) Japan
Ms. Loga Veeraiah
Executive at the National Water Services Commission (SPAN) Malaysia
Mr. Patrick Lester N. Ty
Chief Regulator of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System – Regulatory Office (MWSS-RO) Philippines
Ms Vera Eiro
CEO - President of the Board at the Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority (ERSAR) Portugal
Mr. Paul Hickey
Managing Director of the Regulators Alliance Progressing Infrastructure Development (RAPID - Ofwat) United Kingdom
Ms. Yvonne Magawa
Project Manager at the Eastern and Southern Africa Water and Sanitation Regulators Association (ESAWAS) Zambia