13th IWA Specialist conference on Wastewater Ponds and Algal Technologies

Local Organizer: UNSW Global Water Institute/UNSW Faculty of Engineering
Community Organizer:

Image credit: Melbourne Water*

WPAT2022 will provide a forum for the international research community, water utilities and water professionals to present and discuss the latest developments in the application of pond systems to wastewater treatment and the use of algae for resource recovery and production of added value products using wastewater as the growth medium. WPAT 2022 will also provide an opportunity for early career researchers and young water professionals to engage with international experts. The program will include the use of pond and photobioreactor systems for the removal of organic and inorganic contaminants and pathogens from wastewater, enabling water reuse. The potential to recover energy and chemical feedstocks from the photosynthetic organisms essential to the treatment process will be a unique focus of this conference.

This event follows the very successful IWALGAE 2019, which combined for the first time the 12th IWA Specialist conference on Wastewater Ponds and 2nd IWA Conference on Algal Technologies for Wastewater Treatment and Resource Recovery where we enjoyed the tapas and beautiful architecture in Valledolid, Spain.

Given the current COVID-19 pandemic, WPAT22 will be delivered in hybrid mode as we take advantage of the latest technological advances that have become mainstream due to our rapid switch to remote working. We hope our virtual option also benefits those who may not be able to travel for other reasons, like family responsibilities. Whichever option works for you, we will endeavour to bring you a schedule full of exciting innovations, interactive workshops, and networking opportunities.

For those able to be with us in Melbourne, there will also be the possibility to travel to Melbourne Water’s Western Treatment Plant, a 110 square kilometre sewage treatment plant treating 50% of Melbourne’s sewage and producing 40,000 ML of recycled water/year, while also recognised as a Ramsar site.


  • Resource recovery
  • Biomass production
  • Added value products
  • Fugitive emissions
  • Public health

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Miller Alonso Camargo-Valero
University of Leeds United Kingdom
Howard Fallowfield
Flinders University Australia
Raul Munoz
University of Valladolid Spain
Adrian Unc
Memorial University of Newfoundland Canada
Andrew Shilton
Massey University New Zealand
Armando González Sánchez
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) Mexico
Benoit Guieyesse
Massey University New Zealand
Bilasse Zongo
Université Nazi Boni, Bobo-Dioulasso Burkina Faso
Bill Wood
Tasmanian Water Corporation (TasWater) Australia
Bruce Jefferson
Cranfield University United Kingdom
Cesar Moto Filho
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Damien Batstone
University of Queensland Australia
Daniel Puyol
Universidad Rey Juan Carlos Spain
Elena Ficara
Politecnico di Milano Italy
Eugenia J. Olguín Palacios
Institute of Ecology Mexico
Fabiana Passos
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Fernando Fermoso
Fermoso, Instituto de la Grasa, CSIC Spain
Franklin Bailey Green
Allied Engineers, Inc United States Of America
Gopalkrish Kumar
University of Stavanger Norway
Grant Allen
University of Toronto Canada
Haifeng Lu
China Agricultural University, Beijing China
Ivet Ferrer
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya-BarcelonaTech Spain
Jason Park
NIWA New Zealand
Jean-Philippe Steyer
INRA, LBE, Université Montpellier France
Joan García
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya-BarcelonaTech Spain
John Benemann
Microbioengineering United States Of America
Koenraad Muylaert
University of Leuven Belgium
Li Gao
South East Water Australia
Liah Coggins
University of Western Australia Australia
Luisa Gouveia
Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia (LNEG) Portugal
Marcos Von Sperling
Universidade Minas Gerais Brazil
Matthew Verbyla
San Diego State University United States Of America
Miguel Peña-Varón
Universidad del Valle Colombia
Navid Moheimani
Murdoch University Australia
Nick Crosbie
Melbourne Water Australia
Olivier Bernard
INRIA France
Pedro A. García-Encina
University of Valladolid Spain
Peter Ralph
University of Technology Sydney Australia
Peter van der Steen
IHE Delft Institute for Water Education Netherlands
Qiuyan Yuan
University of Mantioba, Canada
Rafael Bastos
Universidade Viscosa Brazil
Rejane da Costa
Universidade Santa Catarina Brazil
Robert Reinhardt
Algen Slovenia
Silvia Bolado
University of Valladolid Spain
Skefos Tsoukalis
Northern Territiory Power and Water Corp Australia
Sofie Van Den Hende
ESPOL Ecuador
Tania Vasconcelos Fernandes
NIOO-KNAW Netherlands
Doan Thi Thai Yen
Hanoi University of Science and Technology Vietnam
Yi Tao
Tsinghua University China