10th IWA Symposium on Modelling and Integrated Assessment

Community Organizer: , Danish IWA National Committee, Swedish IWA National Committee, IWA MIUWS Working Group, IWA LCA Working Group, IWA CFD Working Group
  • #watermatex2019

The 10th IWA Symposium on Modelling and Integrated Assessment (Watermatex 2019) will provide a great forum to exchange methodologies and international experiences on all aspects of water-related problems within an interdisciplinary framework that relies heavily on different types of models. While methodology-focused, the symposium’s contributions of course also extend to applications, but are not restricted to any single discipline. It deals with problems in drinking water treatment and distribution, sewer systems and wastewater treatment, surface and groundwater, technical and natural systems. Integrated Assessment aims at bringing all aspects of a problem together, and is particularly concerned with such issues as the social and economic impacts of solutions to these problems.

Watermatex aims at promoting the application of mathematical methods for modelling and simulation, data management, systems analysis and decision support within the entire water sector. It targets people from research, consulting companies, institutions and utilities to extend the use of models and computing tools to support the understanding, management and optimization of all water systems. New internet-based developments (i.e. digital water) like IoT, big data and machine learning open up new opportunities for enhanced modelling, but may at the same time pose threats in terms of cyber security.

The MIA Specialist Group of IWA organises Watermatex as a quadrennial symposium. The first one dates back to 1987 in London, UK. The most recent editions were in June 2011 in San Sebastian, Spain and in June 2015 in Gold Coast, Australia. We look forward to welcoming you in the beautiful city of Copenhagen, Denmark, in September 2019 for the 10th IWA Symposium on MIA.


  • (Bio)chemical process modelling
  • Separation processes modelling
  • Resource recovery
  • Drinking water systems
  • Sewer networks
  • Receiving water systems
  • Plant-wide and integrated assessment
  • Holistic evaluation (LCA, circular economy and socio-economic aspects)
  • Benchmarking
  • Decision support systems
  • Water & energy nexus
  • Uncertainty, sensitivity and risk analysis
  • Automatic control
  • Sensors and monitoring
  • Computational fluid dynamics
  • Big data and machine learning
  • Digitalization of water

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Albert Guisasola
Autonomous University of Barcelona Spain
Alejandro Vargas
National Autonomous University of Mexico Mexico
Alma Schellart
University of Glasgow United Kingdom
Ana Deletic
University of New South Wales Australia
Andrew Shaw
Black and Veach United States Of America
Aurora Seco
University of Valencia Spain
Benedek Plosz
University of Bath United Kingdom
Bing-Jie Ni
University of Technology Sydney Australia
Damien Batstone
University of Queensland Australia
David Ikumi
University of Cape Town South Africa
Diego Rosso
University of California Davis United States Of America
Domenico Santoro
Trojan Technologies United States Of America
Eberhard Morgenroth
EAWAG Switzerland
Eduardo Ayesa
CEIT - University of Navarra Spain
Elena Torfs
Laval University Canada
Lina Belia
Primodal Inc Canada
Eveline Volcke
Ghent University Belgium
George Ekama
University of Cape Town South Africa
Giacomo Bellandi
University of Florence Italy
Giorgio Manina
University of Palermo Italy
Gürkan Sin
Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Henri Spanjers
TU Delft Netherlands
Ignasi Rodriguez-Roda
ICRA Spain
Imre Takacs
Dynamita France
Ingmar Nopens
Ghent University Belgium
Jean-Luc Bertrand-Krajewski
INSA Lyon France
Jeremy Dudley
Water Research Center Limited United Kingdom
Jeroen Langeveld
TU Delft Netherlands
Jes Vollertsen
Aalborg University Denmark
Joaquim Comas
University of Girona Spain
Jean-Philippe Steyer
INRA Narbonne France
Julien Laurent
University of Strasbourg France
Kimberly Solon
Ghent University Belgium
Kris Villez
EAWAG Switzerland
Lluis Corominas
ICRA Spain
Manel Poch
ICRA Spain
Manfred Schütze
ifak Germany
Maria Viklander
Luleå University of Technology Sweden
Marie-Noelle Pons
CNRS, University of Lorraine France
Mark van Loosdrecht
TU Delft Netherlands
Martin Ryggard
Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Mathieu Sperandi
University of Toulouse France
Paloma Grau
CEIT - University of Navarra Spain
Peter Bach
Monash University Australia
Peter Reichert
EAWAG Switzerland
Peter Vanrolleghem
Universite Laval Canada
Sudhir Murthy
NEWhub United States Of America
Sylvie Gillot
Thomas Fruergaard Astrup
Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Wolfgang Rauch
University of Innsbruck Austria
Xu Wang
Yves Comeau
Polytechnique Montreal Canada
Zhiguo Yuan
University of Queensland Australia