10th IWA Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering Specialist Conference

Community Organizer:

We enthusiastically welcome the MEWE23 conference to Brisbane, Australia.

Our desire to develop novel approaches to better engineer biological processes in the urban water cycle based on our knowledge of the underlying microbial ecology is fully consistent with the philosophy promoted by the MEWE group, and provides the basis for the comprehensive program of this specialist conference.

There is a strong and growing interest among universities, research institutes, water industry and health related stakeholders in microbial ecology, which is now widely regarded as a more powerful tool to optimize our water engineering ecosystems. MEWE23 will cover a wide range of recent research on microbial diversity and their function in water engineering systems.

We look forward to welcoming you in September 2023 to Brisbane for the 10th IWA MEWE Specialist Conference, for knowledge exchange and networking.

Associate Prof Jianhua Guo (Chair)
Dr Adrian Oehmen (Co-Chair)


  • Microbial ecology of biological N & P removal systems
  • Microbial ecology in anaerobic digestion
  • Biofilm ecology of water engineering systems
  • Drinking water microbial ecology (including Legionella & other opportunistic pathogens)
  • Diversity, evolution and ecophysiology of recently discovered microorganisms
  • Linking microbial ecology to process performance in water engineering systems
  • Antimicrobial resistance in water engineering systems
  • Ecology and diversity of viruses (including bacteriophage) in water engineering systems
  • Methods for monitoring and assessing microbial communities in water engineering
  • Advanced molecular methods for microbial ecology research

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Associate Prof Jianhua Guo
The University of Queensland Australia
Dr Adrian Oehmen
The University of Queensland Australia
‪Shaikh Ziauddin Ahammad‬
ITT Delhi India
Adeline Chua
University of Malaya Malaysia
Tom Curtis
Newcastle University United Kingdom
Adey Desta
Addis Ababa University Ethiopia
Leonardo Erijman
University of Buenos Aires Argentina
Claudia Etchebehere
Clemente Estable Biological Research Institute Uruguay
Jane Fowler
Simon Fraser University Canada
Pelying Hong
King Abdullah University Saudi Arabia
Ana Lanham
University of Bath United Kingdom
Mohammed Mahmoud
National Research Centre Egypt
Trina McMahon
University of Wisconsin-Madison United States Of America
Per Halkjaer Nielsen
Aalborg University Denmark
Ameet Pinto
Northeastern University United States Of America
Jorge Rodriguez
Khalifa University of Science and Technology United Arab Emirates
Simona Rossetti
Istituto di Ricerca sulle Acque Italy
Barth Smets
DTU Denmark
Cindy Smith
University of Glasgow United Kingdom
Akihiko Terada
Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology Japan
Mark van Loosdrecht
TU Delft Netherlands
David Weissbrodt
TU Delft Netherlands