2023-2025 Digital Water Programme Steering Committee Announced

The newly selected Steering Committee of the IWA Digital Water Programme has been announced, with 8 new additional members joining the programme leadership. On 26 September 2023, the outgoing and incoming members of the Steering Committee met to handover duties of the programme.

IWA Executive Director, Kala Vairavamoorthy, shared encouraging words to the incoming members while lauding the great impact and contributions made by the outgoing and continuing members. He highlighted the importance of the Committee’s focus on digitalisation around the world through the formation of regional (India & China) and topical (Digitisation of Water and Sanitation in Low- and Middle-Income Contexts) subgroups; bringing more visibility to the substantial progress being made in the water sectors in these regions. He also congratulated Steering Committee Chair, Oliver Grievson, on the success of his leadership and his passion for Digital Water.

Oliver also welcomed the incoming members, echoing Kala’s sentiments on digitalisation in low- and middle-income countries, in addition to underlining the value of the knowledge variances within the Steering Committee given its geographical diversity. He called attention to the upcoming activities, including the upcoming IWA Digital Water Summit in Bilbao, and motivated the SC members to leverage their skills and expertise to boost progress within the programme.

Outgoing members expressed their gratitude for being a part of the Steering Committee and inspired the new members to act as digital ambassadors, sharing what they’ve learned within their organisations and companies, and the wider public.

The new members of the Steering Committee represent the academia, utility and solutions provider sectors within digitalisation. This 2023-2035 Committee embraces Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) with 55% of the Committee being female and 50% from low- and middle-income countries.

The IWA Secretariat is pleased to welcome the new 2023-2025 DWP Steering Committee, and looks forward to facilitating new opportunities that will emerge from the group. Find out more about IWA Digital Water Programme: iwa-network.org/programs/digital-water



Meet the 2023-2025 Steering Committee

Oliver Grievson (Chair), Associate Director at AtkinsRéalis, United Kingdom

Akanksha Sharma, Head of ClimateTech and Digital Utilities at GSMA M4D, United Kingdom

Ann Piyamarn Sisomphon, Head of hydro-modeling at Hydro Informatics Institute, Thailand

David Ikumi, Associate Professor at University of Cape Town, South Africa

Deepa Karthykeyan, Director, Athena Infonomics, USA

Yufeng Guo, Deputy General Manager, Three Gorges Smart Water Technology Company, China

Eduardo Mario Mendiondo, Scientific Coordinator at Center for Studies, and Research on Disasters of São Paulo, Brazil

Eunice Gnay Namirembet, Innovation Specialist at Kampala Capital City Authority, Uganda

Frank Kizito, Decision Support Systems Manager, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda

Hélène Hauduc, Senior Process Engineer, Dynamita, France

Jackie Fortin Flefil, Hydroinformatics Engineer at Xylem, USA 

Jyoti Gautam, Associate Professor, CSE Department, NSUT-EAST Campus, Delhi, India

Marina Batalini de Macedo, Assistant Professor, Federal University of Itajuba, Brazil

Mogan Padayachee, Innovation Manager at Rand Water, South Africa

Pilar Conejos, Digital Twin Manager at Idrica and Assistant Professor at the Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain 

Prabhu Chandrasekeran, Intelligent Water National Practice Leader, Arcadis, USA

Rachel Peletz, Executive Director at Aquaya, USA

Saba Daneshgar

Saba Daneshgar, Post-Doctoral Researcher, Department of Data Analysis and Mathematical Modelling, University of Ghent, Belgium

Sheilla de Carvalho, Managing Director at the Hydroinformatics Institute, Singapore

Wim Audenaert, CEO and Founder at AM-Team, Belgium