Virtual 6th International Water Regulators Forum

  • regulators
  • regulation
  • SDGs
  • governance
  • water
  • International Water Regulators Forum
  • sanitation
  • policy

The International Water Regulators Forum (IWRF) is the international meeting of the global network of regulators of IWA. It gathers high level representatives of regulatory authorities and officials with regulatory and supervisory functions over the provision of water, sanitation, and wastewater treatment services. The Forum is an invite-only event with the exception of the closing plenary.

In its 6th edition, the Forum this year will evaluate and recommend the role of regulators and that of regulation in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, building on the outcomes of previous editions and identifying developments and the way forward for resilient and sustainable universal access to water and sanitation for all.

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 6th IWRF will be taking place virtually this year. Despite this, the themes and structure of the forum aim at creating an interactive and productive space for all participants.

The Forum consists of an opening plenary, followed by three closed invite-only sessions which host high level representatives of regulatory authorities and officials with regulatory and supervisory functions related to the provision of water, sanitation and wastewater management services. The Forum ends with a closing plenary on 8 July 2021 at 14:40 BST (London time) which provides an opportunity to invite other key stakeholders to contribute to the Forum and address the interlinkages between regulation, science, policy and practice. The closing plenary is open to all, register here.

For more information and to request an invitation for the invite-only sessions, please contact Laura White (Leadership Engagement Officer).


  • Regulating efficiency for water and sanitation for all
  • Smart regulation and tools for efficiency
  • Regulating circularity in service provision (water sources)

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Mr. Jakob Hald
Director General of Danish Competition and Consumer Authority (DCCA - KFST) (Chairperson) Denmark
Ms. Ana Albuquerque
Executive Board Member at ERSAR (Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority) Portugal
Prof. Andrea Guerrini
President of WAREG and Commissioner of ARERA Italy
Mr. Dan Palombi
Senior Advisor of Resource Geoscience at the Alberta Energy Regulator - Alberta Geological Survey (AER) Canada
Mr. James Manda
Technical Manager at the African Forum for Utility Regulators (AFUR) South Africa
Ms. Loga Veeraiah
Executive at the National Water Services Commission (SPAN) Malaysia
Dr. Mari Asami
Chief Senior Researcher at the National Institute of Public Health (NIPH) Japan
Mr. Oscar Hugo Pintos
President of the Association of Drinking Water & Sanitation Regulators of the Americas (ADERASA) Argentina
Mr. Patrick Lester N. Ty
Chief Regulator of the MWSS Regulatory Office Philippines
Mr. Paul Hickey
Managing Director of the Regulators Alliance Progressing Infrastructure Development (RAPID) United Kingdom
Mr. Sai-wai Chau
Deputy Director of the Water Supplies Department Hong Kong, China
Mr. Seamus Parker
Executive Director of the Queensland Treasury Corporation Australia
Ms. Tone Madsen
Head of the Water Regulatory Authority, part of the Danish Competition and Consumer Authority (DCCA - KFST) Denmark
Ms. Vanessa Schmitt
Undersecretary of Sustainable Development, Environmental Protection and Conservation Units at SEMAD - State Secretariat of Environment and Sustainable Development Brazil
Ms. Yvonne Magawa
Project Manager at the Eastern and Southern Africa Water and Sanitation (ESAWAS) Regulators Association Zambia