January 17, 2024 IndustryTechnologyWater

2024 Project Innovation Awards launched

IWA is pleased to announce details of the call for entries for the latest edition of the Project Innovation Awards (PIA). Awarded biennially at the IWA World Water Congress & Exhibition, the Project Innovation Awards recognise and promote excellence and innovation in water management, research and technology. Winning entries will be celebrated in the traditional manner at a prestigious Gala event with an audience of water leaders from around the world.

Water underpins every aspect of human and environmental existence. The severe water challenges facing the world today require an unprecedented global response. Innovation plays a central role in achieving IWA’s vision of a world in which water is managed wisely to satisfy the needs of human activities and ecosystems in an equitable and sustainable way. The Project Innovation Awards were launched by the International Water Association in 2006 to recognise that our shared challenges can be overcome through the development and implementation of creative water solutions.

For full details about the awards, see iwa-network.org/iwa-project-innovation-awards


Could you be an IWA Project Innovation Award winner?

Have you been part of a team working on an inspiring, innovative and impactful water project? Has your organisation collaborated on or led a project that has had a significant, positive and demonstrable impact? Then you could be one of our next IWA Project Innovation Award winners!


How the submissions process works

Preliminary submissions for the Project Innovation Awards will open on 5 February and close on 23 February 2024. Nominees who successfully progress through the pre-judging stage will be notified and invited to make a full submission from 8 March 2024, with a deadline of 19 April 2024 for the invited nominees.

For Preliminary Submissions, nominees are expected to provide:

  • Name and contact details of the entrants and / or organisation submitting the application
  • Short summary of the project (maximum 450 words)

For Full Submissions, selected nominees will be expected to provide a project description (maximum 1200 words), up to five high quality images, up to three supporting documents, up to three links to relevant resources, and a minimum of two testimonial letters.

Nominations can only be submitted via the online submissions platform. The IWA Project Innovation Awards will be presented during the IWA’s World Water Congress and Exhibition in Toronto, Canada, on Tuesday 13 August 2024.


Key dates

Submission Platform opens: 5 February 2024

Deadline for Preliminary Submissions: 23 February 2024

Full Submission stage opens (invited nominees only): 8 March 2024

Deadline for Full Submissions by invited nominees: 19 April 2024


The Project Innovation Awards

There are six Project Innovation Award categories, with each category celebrating excellence in a specific field within the water sector. An esteemed panel of experts will assess submissions from each category. The winner in each category will be awarded a gold medal, and the two runners-up will receive silver and bronze medals.

Gold medal winners will be considered for the IWA Grand Innovation Award.

For full details about the categories and more, please visit: