IWA Biofilms 2024 Conference

Community Organizer:

The IWA conferences on Biofilms are one of the most traditional specialised conferences organised by IWA specialist groups. The IWA Biofilm 2011 Conference was successfully organized in Shanghai. The conference will now come back to Shanghai, China (October 2024) during a perfect time of the year. This conference will discuss the latest developments in research and links the new developments to actual implementation and operation of biofilm systems in practice. It will bring together biofilms researchers, university teachers, developers, technology and equipment providers, etc. Special emphasis will be given to active participation of young water professionals. The conference will provide a forum for ideas and opinion exchange and for sharing practical experience spanning the whole range from biofilms fundamentals to design and applications of various biofilm processes.



  • - Biofilms for nutrient removal and recovery
  • - Upgrading of wastewater treatment plants with biofilm technology
  • - Biofilm reactors in decentralized rural sewage treatment
  • - Membrane biofilm reactor
  • - Bio-electrochemical biofilms
  • - Biofilm microbiology and ecology
  • - Mathematic modelling of biofilm processes
  • - Young water professionals, special session/workshop

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Robert Nerenberg
University of Notre Dame United States Of America
Rongchang Wang
Tongji University China
Zhiwei Wang
Tongji University China
Akihiko Tereda
Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology Japan
Stefan Wuertz
Nanyang Technological University Singapore
Bruce E. Rittmann
Arizona State University United States Of America
Eberhard Morgenroth
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich (ETH) Switzerland
Barth F. Smets
Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Joshua P. Boltz
Arizona State University United States Of America
Kelly Martin
Black & Veatch United States Of America
Kim Sørensen
Veolia Water Technologies AB - AnoxKaldnes Denmark
Mark C M van Loosdrecht
University of Delft Netherlands
Susanne Lackner
Technical University of Darmstadt Germany
Sungwoo Bae
National University of Singapore Singapore
Eoin Casey
University College of Dublin Ireland