20th International Symposium on Health Related Water Microbiology

Community Organizer:

The IWA Health-Related Water Microbiology Symposium HRWM 2019 (International Water Association) will be held for the first time in Austria, Vienna. The symposium will take place September 15-20, 2019 and is organized by the IWA HRWM Specialist Group. It will be hosted by the Interuniversity Cooperation Centre (ICC) Water and Health and is supported by the Austrian Society of Hygiene, Microbiology and Preventive Medicine (ÖGHMP).

The symposium program will cover all aspects of health related water microbiology in the whole water cycle, applied and basic research on water and microorganisms as it impacts human health. Main topics include among others research on pathogenic bacteria, parasites and viruses, microbial indicators, modelling associated risk and microbial source tracking tools, as well as water treatment and disinfection, water reuse, recreational water, water management in disaster situations and extreme events, antimicrobial resistance, as well as water quality and infection control in health care facilities. Contributions related to the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) are particularly welcome.

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Kathleen Alexander
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University United States Of America
Celia Regina Monte Barardi
Federal University of Santa Catarina Brazil
Anicet Blanch
University of Barcelona Spain
Lisa Casanova
Georgia State University United States Of America
James Ebdon
University of Brighton United Kingdom
Rosina Girones
University of Barcelona Spain
Christiane Höller
Bavarian Institute for Health and Food Safety Germany
Hiroyuki Katayama
The University of Tokyo Japan
GwangPyo Ko
Seoul National University South Korea
Tamar Kohn
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Switzerland
Gang Liu
Chinese Academy of Science China
Franz Mascher
Medical University Graz Austria
Gertjan Medema
KWR Netherlands
John Scott Meschke
University of Washington United States Of America
Susan Petterson
Griffith University School of Medicine Australia
Veronica Rajal
National University of Salta Argentina
Andrea Rechenburg
University Hospital of Bonn Germany
Georg Reischer
Technische Universität Wien Austria
Anne Roiko
Griffith University Australia
Joan Rose
Michigan State University United States Of America
Daisuke Sano
Tohoku University Japan
Ricardo Santos
Technical Univesity of Lisbon Portugal
Orin Shanks
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency United States Of America
Kwanrawee Sirikanchana
Chulabhorn Research Institute Thailand
Maronel Steyn
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research South Africa
Gary Toranzos
University of Puerto Rico Puerto Rico
Jack Schijven
University Utrecht Netherlands