Cancelled: 1st IWA Non-Sewered Sanitation Conference

Local Organizer: Water Research Commission, University of Pretoria and Envirosan
Community Organizer: , Non-sewered Sanitation Specialist Group
  • #NSS
  • #nonseweredsanitation
  • #SDG6
  • #FSM

The 1st IWA Non-Sewered Sanitation (NSS) specialist group conference is being hosted in Pretoria, South Africa in partnership with the Water Research Commission and the University of Pretoria. The event responds to the challenges and needs of around 4 billion people requiring sanitation. The aim of the conference is to provide stimulus for research and innovation for NSS and offgrid sanitation solutions including faecal sludge management, build the technical and scientific base for NSS and to contribute to scientific knowledge and good practice learnings. The venue for the conference is, which is in Pretoria, South Africa.


  • Advancements in NSS technology - Product development
  • Advancements in pit emptying solutions, faecal sludge processing technology, logistics and management
  • Application and demonstration – scientific exploration of lessons and experiences
  • Advances in process science
  • Capacity Building for NSS
  • Municipal and private sector transitions to off-grid and NSS solutions
  • Emerging circular economy and resource recovery concepts
  • New developments / Advances in manufacturing, demonstration and scale up of new solutions
  • Case studies on off-grid and NSS applications
  • Detection, characterisation and quantification in relation to process performance, standards and regulation
  • Fundamentals of sanitation economy and service delivery
  • Research-based innovations and solutions for city-wide sanitation
  • Solutions for Informal Settlements
  • Any new areas of interest related to off-grid and NSS

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Damir Brdjanovic
IHE Delft Institute for Water Education Netherlands
Mei Yee Chan
TUV SUD Singapore
Kartik Chandran
Columbia University United States Of America
Yu Ling Cheng
Univesity of Toronto Canada
Mark Deshusses
Duke University United States Of America
Teddy Gounden
eThekwini Municipality South Africa
Suresh Kumar Rohilla
Centre for Science & Environment India
RS Arun Kumar
Energy and Environment Resource Group
Miriam Otoo
International Water Management Institute Sri Lanka
Sudhir Pillay
Water Research Commission South Africa
Linda Strande
SANDEC-EAWAG Switzerland
Roshan Shresta
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation United States Of America
Santiago Septien
University of KwaZulu-Natal South Africa
Konstantina Velkushanova
University of KwaZulu-Natal South Africa