17th Small Water and Wastewater Systems and 9th Resource Oriented Sanitation

Local Organizer: Associação Brasileira de Engenharia Sanitária e Ambiental (ABES), Universidade Federal do Paraná (UFPR), Companhia de Saneamento do Paraná (SANEPAR), Instituto Nacional de Ciência e Tecnologia em Estações Sustentáveis de Tratamento de Esgoto (INCT ETEs Sustentáveis)
Community Organizer:
  • SWWS ROS 2024

The International Water Association (IWA) Specialist Groups for Small Water and Wastewater Systems (SWWS) and the Resource Oriented Sanitation (ROS) held the latest version of the IWA SWWS and the IWA ROS in 2019 Australia. The proposal is to return to hold both conferences – 17th IWA Small Water and Wastewater Systems and 9th IWA Resource Oriented Sanitation – in Curitiba, Paraná State, Brazil.  The event is aimed at water and sanitation specialists, researchers, students and companies with solutions for resource recovery and small water and sewage treatment systems. During the event it is intended to bring together participants from different parts of the world, in particular the Americas, Europe and Asia.


  • Case studies of small water and wastewater systems
  • Resource-oriented sanitation solutions
  • Energy efficiency in small water and wastewater systems
  • Small scale and decentralized wastewater treatment and manage
  • Eco-solutions for wastewater treatment
  • Management of sludge from small water and wastewater systems
  • Non-sewered systems
  • Monitoring and removal of emerging contaminants and pathogens
  • Monitoring of water bodies
  • Nutrients removal and recovery in source-separation systems
  • Pathogen fate and removal in water and wastewater systems
  • Sanitation solutions for rural communities
  • Biogas management and energy recovery
  • Odor control and carbon neutrality in wastewater systems
  • Sludge treatment and reuse
  • Water reuse (rain water harvesting, use of treated wastewater
  • Management and planning tools (LCA, risk assessment
  • Social aspects, environmental policies and regulations
  • Innovation, education, training and certification
  • Environmental microbiology and population dynamics
  • Process modelling
  • Wastewater-based epidemiology

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Gustavo Collere Possetti (chair)
Associação Brasileira de Engenharia Sanitária e Ambiental / Water and Sanitation Company of Paraná State Brazil
Germán Buitrón Méndez
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
Florent Chazarenc
French National Institute for Agriculture, Food, and Environment (INRAE) France
Guoren Xu
Harbin Institute of Technology China
Yang Liu
University of Alberta Canada
Kai Udert
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich Switzerland
Darja Istenic
University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Civil and Geodetic Engineering Slovenia
Girija Ramakrishna
CDD Society India
Sadhan Kumar Ghosh
Jadavpur University India
Prithvi Simha
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) Sweden
Staffan Filipsson
IVL Swedish Environmental Research Institute Sweden
Abdulmajid Sulaiman
Bayero University, Kano Nigeria
Kartik Chandran
Columbia University United States Of America
Gabriel Carranza
University of Louisiana at Lafayette United States Of America
Goksen Capar
Ankara University Turkey
Jaime Díaz Gómez
Universidad de Boyacá, Uniboyacá Colombia
Klaus Ruben Nelting
Ostfalia University Germany
Luewton Lemos F Agostinho
NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences Netherlands
Jules van Lier
Delft University of Technology Netherlands
Raul Muñoz
Universidad de Valladolid Spain
Ana Soares
Cranfield University United Kingdom
Marcos von Sperling
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Carlos Augusto Chernicharo
CR-ETES Brazil
Lourdinha Florêncio
Universidade Federal de Pernambuco Brazil
André Bezerra dos Santos
Universidade Federal do Ceará Brazil
Marcelo Antunes Nolasco
Universidade de São Paulo Brazil
Karen Juliana do Amaral
Universidade Federal do Paraná Brazil