11th Micropol & Ecohazard Conference 2019

Local Organizer: Korean Society of Environmental Engineers (KSEE)
Community Organizer: , Assessment and Control of Hazardous Substances in Water (ACHSW)

On behalf of the organizing committee, it is our great pleasure to invite you to 11th Micropol & Ecohazard Conference which will be held from October 20 to 24, 2019 in Seoul, South Korea.

In recent years, there is a growing body of research on emerging micropollutants associated with water, wastewater, surface and groundwater. This conference is dedicated to provide the rich and thought-provoking scientific programs to share and discuss the latest scientific development and technical solutions in monitoring & analysis, fate & transport, ecotoxicity & risk assessment, control & treatment, and prioritization & regulation of emerging micropollutants with water professionals from all over the world.

We are also delighted to host the conference in Seoul, the capital and the largest metropolis of South Korea. Seoul is the city with fascinating blend of ancient and modern architecture, having five UNESCO World Heritage Sites in its neighborhood as well as multiple award-winning modern landmarks, also being the birthplace of K-pop and the Korean Wave.

We hope many of you will join us at the 11th Micropol & Ecohazard Conference 2019 and every participant to enjoy the scientific programs as well as impressive experiences in Seoul.


  • Source, Fate, and Occurrence
  • Monitoring Methods (Chemical and Biological Tools) and Strategies
  • Toxicity Assessment
  • Transformation Products in Natural and Technical Treatment Systems
  • Environmental Nanotoxicology and Nanotechnology
  • Risk Assessment and Communication
  • Prioritization and Regulation
  • Removal & Reduction Strategies (Physicochemical and Biological Processes) and Source Control
  • Technical Solutions and Requirements for Water Reuse
  • Pilot- and Full-scale Treatment Processes
  • Special Topic I. Antibiotic Resistance
  • Special Topic II. Microplastics

Programme Committee

Name Affiliation Country
Jiangyong Hu
National University of Singapore Singapore
David L. Sedlak
University of California United States Of America
Urs von Gunten
Eawag-Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology Switzerland
Pedro J Alvarez
Rice University United States Of America
Thomas Ternes
The German Federal Institute of Hydrology Germany
Christa McArdell
Eawag-Swiss Federal Institute of Science and Technology Switzerland
Hiroaki Tanaka
Kyoto University Japan
Hong-Ying Hu
Tsinghua University China
Teik-Thye Lim
Nanyang Technological University Singapore
Diana S. Aga
University at Buffalo United States Of America
Samuel Martin
Suez Environnement France
Gen-Shuh Wang
National Taiwan University Taiwan, China
Wen-Wei Li
University of Science and Technology of China China
Bryan Brooks
Baylor University United States Of America
Henrik Rasmus Andersen
Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Jaehong Kim
Yale University United States Of America
Despo Fatta-Kassinos
University of Cyprus Cyprus
Karl Fent
University of Applied Sciences Base Switzerland
Kenneth Leung
Hong Kong University Hong Kong, China
Maria Furhacker
BOKU-University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Austria
Robert Kase
Eawag-Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology Switzerland
Sebastien Allard
Curtin Water Quality Research Centre Australia
Shane A. Snyder
Nanyang Technological University Singapore
Xin Yu
Institute of Urban Environment, Chinese Academy of Science China